Nothing like a nice fall day to…show off my new fannypack?

I have a confession to make: I committed the horrible fashion sin of buying and wearing a fannypack:

Me wearing a fannypack, giving the photographer a thumbs-up from behind.
Yep. That’s fannypack.

In search of cross-training efforts that don’t suck, one of the things I want to do more of is rail trail skating (or endurance skating, whatever you want to call it). A bunch of my teammates went out this morning to skate along a trail that cuts through downtown Manchester (New Hampshire, not England) and it was a lot of fun! The weather was gorgeous and sunny and we’re at peak fall foliage colors right now.

But as for the fannypack: so generally when I skate at practice it’s enough for me to just keep my CGM (continuous glucose monitor) on me since I’m never far from my water, glucose tablets, or meter. But that’s not really an option with rail trail skating, because I could be up to a couple of miles away from my car where I’ve put all of my stuff. Yeah, I could carry a backpack, but then I’d end up throwing in more stuff than I really need and those get heavy and sweaty and I wanted something that was just the right size for a bottle of Gatorade, some candy, my insulin, my keys, and my meter.

Bring in the fannypack. In that I was able to stick all of the medical stuff I need to carry around with me and it wasn’t too uncomfortable to carry on my waist. The only issue I had was when I fell backwards (trying to do a transition on my weaker side…that’s why it’s my weaker side, folks) and it damaged the pack a little bit.

Well. Actually. The bigger issue was that I felt like a dad wearing a fannypack. I had to resist the urge to start telling dad jokes.

One thought on “Nothing like a nice fall day to…show off my new fannypack?

Leave a Reply

